Sidebar-rth-badge

Sponsor

ChineseClass101.com

The books

  Contact

The most efficient way to remember the meaning and writing of Chinese characters.

Remember!

Remembering Hanzi

Use your imaginative memory to remember thousands complex Chinese characters, with Remembering Traditional Hanzi by James W. Heisig & Timothy W. Richardson.

Get it at

Wait! I need a book for this? Yes you do! Try the sample chapter and see if it works for you!

Questions? Check out our community forums!

Review, Share and Improve!

See your progress Visualize your progress as stacks of flashcards. Reviews are automatically scheduled based on your past results.

Review the hanzi Review the hanzi online. Repeat more of the difficult characters, and less of those that you know well.

Share mnemonics Feeling stuck? Share stories with fellow learners. Find help and encouragement on the community forums!

Site News

Working on support for Simplified Hanzi25 October 2014
I am working on adding support for multiple indexes/sequences to the characters. This will effectively allow to study and review both Simplified and Traditional Hanzi on this website. This is not quite ready yet, but I am hoping it can be completed before the end of November.
Fixed link to Sample Chapter (PDF)1 October 2014
The link to the free sample chapter for Remembering Traditional Hanzi (Volume 1) has been updated (thanks Corey!). And here is the publisher's page for the book.
Small usability update19 February 2014
 
  • Replaced the old glossy looking buttons with the new ones used in the Review page. The Edit Flashcard dialog now looks nicer and the buttons should be more comfortable to use on a touch device.
  • Added a confirmation step to the Delete option of the flashcard menu. This works on the Review and Study pages. Thanks to Cameron for the suggestion.
This small update today is part of a larger set of changes to upgrade old stylesheets (for example obsolete browser compatibility), replacing gif images with CSS3 that has become standard, and preparing for responsive layout.
Minor fixes and... line breaks!18 February 2014
This update involves a couple small fixes and a change to the Story edition feature (note: this update was live about a week ago, but I forgot to post):

  • Line breaks are now used in formatting your personal stories / mnemonics in the Study pages as well as the Flashcard Review "Edit Story" dialog.
  • Fixed issue with Flip Card keyboard shortcut (Spacebar and F) after using the Flashcard Menu dialog.
  • Removed the fade-in effect when moving between flashcards. The intention was to add more visual cue but until I can do a better effect, I agree it can feel a bit slower. This should feel more snappy on mobile too.
Regading the story formatting, line breaks are not displayed in the Shared Stories list. This is intentional. Think Twitter's limit on the length of messages: the idea is to have small compromises in order to encourage users to share effective, and on topic stories.

However in the personal story area, I understand users want to add more information, such as example words, and misc. notes of personal interest. This is the reason why line breaks are displayed in personal, but not shared stories.
Flashcard Review page optimized for smartphones !5 February 2014
The flashcard review pages are now optimized to work on smartphones and small screen devices! As long as you have network access, you can now do reviews in your favorite spot :)

On the right side, the View / Edit story dialog uses a simpler design that fits the smartphone display from edge to edge.

A refreshed design: On the desktop too, you will notice the review page has fresher design, with slightly larger buttons using vibrant colours to match the No/Yes/Easy answers. And you also benefit from the responsive layout if the browser window is quite small, which could be handy on netbooks or laptops.

This update also includes a small tweak to the Study pages. Line breaks are now formatted in your personal stories (both in the Study pages and during reviews). Note that line breaks are not formatted in the Shared Stories because we want to encourage users to share on topic, effective mnemonics. It is an intentional compromise, similar to how Twitter limits the messages length.

Your feedback is very helpful because I don't have a smartphone to test with! I used an emulator to preview the mobile layout. Let me know on the forum or contact form which device/OS you use and how comfortable it is, and any suggestions you have. Thank you!

Mobile/Smartphone layout shaping up nicely16 January 2014

A new flashcard review layout optimized for smartphone and mobile devices with smaller displays is shaping up nicely!

More details and links in this Google+ update. You can follow us too! I haven't updated Google+ in ages but hey, sometimes I do ;)

New: Skip flashcards during review29 December 2013

If you can't quite recall one or two kanji during review but think there's a high probability of remembering it a little later, you can now select Skip this flashcard from the flashcard's drop down menu:

Thanks to Milo for the suggestion!

Update to the Pinyin readings9 December 2013

Many corrections have been made to the Pinyin readings shown in the Study page. Roughly one in ten characters (out of 3035 total) featured a reading of historical interest only, or low frequency of use. The reading shown on each character's study page is now primarily obtained from the UNIHAN database's kHanyuPinlu field. In cases where there is more than one common reading, a single reading is selected based on frequency of use of the pronunciation.

More details and a full list of the updated readings can be found in this post.

Minor corrections to RTH Vol. 1 & 2 keywords11 November 2013

Minor corrections have been made to the database, mostly keywords as well as a few characters which were not using the correct form. Most keyword changes are minor and meant to reflect the exact spelling in the Remembering Traditional Hanzi books. However a few keywords are completely different such as #883 "Iran" which is now "Queen Elizabeth".

You can find a detailed list of the changes in this forum post. Many thanks to rubrick and gdaxeman for their help with the corrections!

New "favourite" stories section on Study page8 October 2013

When you click the star button next to a story (mnemonic) it will now move up to a separate section called "Favourites". Voted stories now always appear at the top of the list in this new section.

With this change a vote now acts as a kind of bookmark. It tells other users you found this story helpful, while at the same time makes the story easier to find when you come back to the study page.

Pinyin readings on the Study pages3 June 2013
The pinyin readings (Mandarin pronunciation) are now displayed on the Study pages, just below the character and stroke count. Readings are displayed in diacritic form. Point the mouse at the readings to reveal the tone numbers in the tooltip. Please post any comments/feedback here. Thanks to rubrick for the suggestion!
Corrections for RTH Vol.26 July 2012

A few corrections for RTH Vol.2 went live today. There were some minor typos in keywords, and in particular the range of characters between frame number 2751 to 2765 were incorrect. Thanks to zonius, aphasiac, myoshiquick, Frank. Please post any other errors you find in the RevTH Development Log.

New domain!29 June 2012

The new domain name is live: reviewingthehanzi.com! I hope you like it :)

Please let me know if the redirect broke anything I will look at it asap!

...more in the news archive.